Day 1 Adventure before dementia 

Prologue

1st April 2016. For as long as I can remember Rory has said ‘I’m retiring on my 50th birthday’. This was taken as seriously as ‘I’ll be dead before my 21st birthday’ which he often said during our teenage years, but today finds us both on day one of being “retired” and almost ready to start our travels. 

Puzzler is our 1980 C-Kip 46, and at 50′ long and 14.5′ wide she has been our home for the last 11 years. This week she will be lifted out for a clean bottom and new anodes, oh and the small matter of a bathroom to be fitted, then she will be ready to go in a couple of weeks.
The original plan was to travel round Britain. Anti-clockwise. But after a trip in the VW van a couple of years ago we realised it rains non stop in Scotland and we both crave hot sunshine. So we are headed to France, first destination Paris…

5 thoughts on “Day 1 Adventure before dementia 

  1. Looking forward to reading your blog and hearing about your adventures. My dad’s phrase was always – when I retire I’ll….. Unfortunately lung cancer took him at 63 and he never did do what he dreamed of and consequently neither has my mum. Carpe Diem!

    Like

Leave a comment